Favorite

Favorite at Ketchikan, Alaska

Favorite

The Ship:

  • Official Number: 220234
  • Owner: Fintan Fisheries, LLC
  • Call Sign: WDD8546
  • Homeport: Seattle, WA
  • Length: 58 feet
  • Beam: 16 feet
  • Tonnage: 42 GT
  • Year of Build: 1920
  • Builder: Babare Bros, Tacoma, Washington, USA
  • Name History: ?

The Story:

I’ve realized that so far I’ve stuck to the interesting derelict vessels I’ve come across, so I’ll alter course here a little bit.

I don’t know what it really is about this vessel, her history, despite being long, isn’t particularly interesting, and she doesn’t stand out much from any group of elderly seiners in the Northwest, of which there are many. Maybe it’s just her name, the simplicity of it subliminally make sher one of your favorites…

But the truth is, I find it intriguing that a vessel of this age continues to sail to this day, with 90 years under her belt, and rarely getting a second glance from those she passes. It takes a keen eye to pick her out from the fleet of her brethren at Fisherman’s Terminal in Seattle, yet she somehow looks distinguished, still.

Favorite at Fisherman’s Terminal, Seattle, WA

She may not stand out dramatically, but something about her tells you that she’s seen more than the average vessel. Perhaps it should be said, “if only those planks could talk…”

About Fairlane
Photographer, historian, nerd, engineer, twenty-something - Those are a few of the words that describe me. Though I have varied interests, one of my passions in maritime history, which I enjoy sharing. If you want to find out what I can tell, please follow my blog.

2 Responses to Favorite

  1. action says:

    It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ken Gardner says:

    Greetings you old Girl. You don’t know how much I love you.
    I fished on The Favorite in the 70’s when she was owned by Jack Davis. Coming from the mountains of Montana to her decks (1974 through 1981) took me from a child to a man. Forty some odd years my heart continues to recall days and times on her. She was a dark blue in those days with a mast. Powered by an old 6-110. I got to know her well. I am joyed to see her in such good shape, I see some changes but she is still beautiful. God Bless

Leave a Reply

